Possibilities

We always have choices… we can not always control what happens to us and around us but we can still within that make choices as to how we respond. The group was asked to think about the following by Portia Nelson:

  • I walk down the street. There is a large hole in the sidewalk. I fall in. I am lost..I am helpless. It isn’t my fault. It takes me forever to find a way out.
  • I walk down the same street. There is a deep hole in the sidewalk. I pretend I don’t see it. I fall in again. I can’t believe I am in the same place but it isn’t my fault. It still takes a long time to get out.
  • I walk down the same street. There is a deep hole in the sidewalk. I see it is there. I still fall in…it’s a habit. My eyes are open, I know where I am. It is my fault. I get out immediately.
  • I walk down the same street. There is a deep hole in the sidewalk. I walk around it.
  • I walk down another street.

There is an interesting lesson here for us to consider about our repetitive patterns of behaviour that lead us to familiar situations in our lives. Learning to recognise these gives us the opportunity to do something differently, to find the answers and the strength within to be the change we need in our life.

Leave a Reply

